New activity: Curation

First, I just developed an understanding of curation this week. Accordingly I have attempted to perform a curation of a topic: English as a new language. I am an esl teacher and this is my daily battle. However, I may have chosen too large of a topic for curation, either way, here it goes.

I developed, in conjunction with two of my classmates, a criteria to evaluate or curate my resources.

Here are the questions we developed with my assessment of my curation based on this sites compilation – http://www.scoop.it/t/english-as-a-new-language

1.Does the content have the most pertinent information that fits the user’s needs?

Yes, I have included information about theories, strategies, tools, applications, common core, professional development, and research.

No, even though I took my time, this was by no means an exhaustive list of the best sites for this category.

2. Is the content focus too narrow or too general?

Yes, I could have greatly narrowed to some of the conflicts in this field.

3. Is the content useful?

Yes, I gleamed useful information, and I made comments about individual sites to highlight potential values I noticed in the individual parts.

4.Is the content interesting?

It depends, I think so, and I expect others in my field will also think so.

5. Is the content consistent with the message?

Yes, my message seeks to inform overall, not to conclude or take sides on issues.

6.Is the content source reliable?

Well, I know that I’m completely reliable(not) but, my selection process did stay with a majority of mainstream publications. Thee were a few individual pieces that were in left field. Those pieces were given special treatment with the nature of my comments towards them.

7. Is the content of excellent quality?

Yes, this is why I chose it. I felt it offered something useful and of value, which I know as a teacher requires a certain level of presentational skill.

8.Does the content include a variety of media?

yes, blogs, video, graphics, scrolling, feeds, and more.

9. Is there a clear target audience?

Yes, the target audience is teachers of ELL students.

10. Is the content appropriate for the audience?

Yes, though individual teachers may not be interested in the full range of offerings provided.

11. Are multiple perspectives of the content shared?

Not really, there is some controversy with the ccss implementation and its lack of coordination to ELL, special needs, and electives. I decided to avoid that argument by simply offering suggestions of how to make ccss work for ELL students.

12. Does the author share their biases or agendas?

I do occassionally offer my judgement of curated content, and the authors of the sites I curate also offer on occasion their bias/agendas.

13. Does the curation help others make sense of content?

yes, my comments read like summaries, and my selection was based a clear reason for their inclusion in my overall category.

14. Is the content organized to be as accessible as possible?

Somewhat, I have not played with scoop-it before. I didn’t mess with the layout possibilities. Mostly I presented them with the default layout offered by the website.

15.Does the curation create value?

Yes, if nothing else my comments and selections can spark dialogue about the topics that pertain to my professional field. And, if that doesn’t happen, at least i am reading and recording my own insights.

16. Does the curator provide context for content?

Yes, I tried to sub-categorize these with my comments, though there is probably a better way.

Leave a Reply

